Mixed fortunes for British drivers at Silverstone.

by / Comments Off on Mixed fortunes for British drivers at Silverstone. / 383 View / May 16, 2016

The weekend just gone saw the return of the SEAT Sport Leon Eurocup to Silverstone for the 3rd year in a row, Like previous years LeonOC were invited as guests of SEAT Sport.

This season the grid is a little smaller than previous years but the top 10 from last season remain meaning in fact it’s harder as now its quality rather than quantity. In previous seasons British drivers have come and gone in the championship but this season we have 2 starting from the very start, Lucas Orrock driving for Zest Racecar Engineering and Alex Morgan driving for Wolf Power Racing, Alex is no stranger to the championship after picking up a couple of wins last season for the Baporo team, 1 of which I watched live in Germany.

Both Lucas and Alex are drivers than LeonOC are happy to support this season.


LeonOC logo’s on Lucas Orrock’s car

Alex also took his first Leon Eurocup podium in 2015 at Silverstone, that day he was beaten to the top step by guest British driver Jonny Cocker who at the time was driving for Wolf Power Racing.


Alex’s first podium in Leon Eurocup 7th June 2015, British driver Jonny Cocker won the race for Wolf Power Racing.

Race 1

Alex #5 started P3 after an impressive qualifying, Lucas #4 started P6 which was a massive leap forward from where they had been a few weeks ago in Estoril. The race was a fairly clear race until lap 7 when Lucas got tagged at Brooklands and eventually had to retire on the last lap with damage to the rear of the car. Alex had a hard fought battle for 5th and showed some impressive driving to keep away Briche #3 and then Cypriano #9. After the race a 10 second penalty was added to Lourenço Beirao Da Veiga #20 which promoted Alex upto 4th.  The race was won by Niels Langeveld #10.

1. Niels Langeveld (#10), Baporo Motorsport; 24’33.223
2. Mikel Azcona (#1), PCR Sport; +2.987
3. Stian Paulsen (#34), Stian Paulsen Racing; +9.618
4. Alex Morgan (#5), Wolf Racing; + 13.428
5. Lucile Cypriano (#9), JSB Competition; +14.384
6. Julien Briche (#3), JSB Competition; + 15.020
7. Lourenço Beirao Da Veiga (#20), PCR Sport; +23.213
8. Facundo Della Motta (#44), Baporo Motorsport; +24.188
9. Maurits Sandberg (#99), Baporo Motorsport; +32.013
10. Pol Rosell (#13), Baporo Motorsport; +33.006
11. Lucas Orrock (#4), ZEST Clealand; +1’22.052

Jimmy Antunes (#2), JSB Competition

Race 1 footage can be found Here

Alex Morgan's car

Alex Morgan’s car

Race 2

Race 2 is formed over a reverse grid, Lucas #4 started 5th today and Alex #5 started 8th. Lucas had a sluggish start off the line and lost a place, Alex kept hold of P8 and started to attack for P7 and eventually took p7 before the end of lap1, Unfortunately a few cars went off at the loop and Alex was forced wide loosing all the hard work he had done. During that period Lucas had moved up to P3 and was attacking very well for P2.  Further into the race at Village Lucas came under attack and ended up with front damage that forced an immediate retirement. Alex was now pushing very hard after initially fearing damage which was quickly denied by the team, lap after lap good times were put in and eventually Alex grabbed and kept hold of the fastest lap of the race, Moving all the way from P8 to P3 cleanly. Alex had chance to attack for P2 but wisely chose to hold onto P3 rather than risk it all for P2, in the later stages of the race he came under increased pressure from Cypriano #9 but made his car very wide and held on for the podium. Race 2 was won by championship leader Stian Paulsen #34


Alex on the podium

Classification Race 2:

1. Stian Paulsen (#34), Stian Paulsen Racing; 24’46.729
2. Lourenço Beirao Da Veiga (#20), PCR Sport; +4.818
3. Alex Morgan (#5), Wolf Racing; + 5.149
4. Lucile Cypriano (#9), JSB Competition; +5.607
5. Facundo Della Motta (#44), Baporo Motorsport; +5.963
6. Mikel Azcona (#1), PCR Sport; +6.515
7. Pol Rosell (#13), Baporo Motorsport; +16.825
8. Maurits Sandberg (#99), Baporo Motorsport; +23.610

Jimmy Antunes (#2), JSB Competition
Lucas Orrock (#4), ZEST Clealand
Julien Briche (#3), JSB Competition
Niels Langeveld (#10), Baporo Motorsport

Race 2 footage can be found Here

Alex morgan after securing P3

“Taking the final podium position was a great way to end the weekend. I tried to take P2, but I knew it wasn’t going to be an easy move. Securing the points and the podium was crucial for me and the team, so I am really happy.”

1. Stian Paulsen, 2. Lourenço Beirao Da Veiga, 3. Alex Morgan 4. Lucile Cyprian

1. Stian Paulsen, 2. Lourenço Beirao Da Veiga, 3. Alex Morgan 4. Lucile Cyprian

LeonOC would like to say a big thank you to SEAT Sport for allowing us to attend again this year, also a big thank you to Alex Morgan and Lucas Orrock! We look forward to attending some more races throughout the season and hopefully catching up with you both on the podium!