• Norwegian racer (Stian Paulsen Racing) walks the top step of the podium and leads the standings
  • Completing the rostrum was Lucile Cypriano (JSB Competition) and Mauricio Hernández (PCR Sport) in second and third respectively
  • Mikel Azcona (PCR Sport) wins the opening sprint of the single-make series and sits second in the standings with 40 points chased by Lucile Cypriano (JSB Competition) with 24


After the utter dominance of Spaniard Mikel Azcona (PCR Sport) who fronted the first race of the weekend from Pole (1’46.908), marked the fastest lap (1’49.524) and sped to victory with a seven and a half second difference over Stian Paulsen (Stian Paulsen Racing), today the Portuguese circuit hosted the second run in the SEAT Leon Eurocup.
Under ideal weather conditions it was Stian Paulsen who walked the highest step of the rostrum in the second chase. Following the Norwegian was Lucile Cypriano (JSB Competition) and Mauricio Hernández (PCR Sport), second and third respectively and protagonists of an exciting tussle. The French woman, seventh yesterday, again showed excellent potential and fired the quickest circulation of the weekend at Estoril (1’49.319).
If yesterday was all about Azcona, today was the turn of Stian Paulsen, who made a spectacular start from sixth on the grid and firmly had the reigns of the race just two laps into the sprint. His SEAT Leon Cup Racer flew but Mauricio Hernández and the young Lucile Cypriano kept reasonably close and lapped in the 1’51s. It was then that Stian Paulsen, at the midpoint of the outing, changed his rhythm and began to forge a gap that nobody else was able to touch and he crossed the finish line with almost four seconds of advantage over the nearest pursuer.
Thrills were duly served with a scrap for the second step of the podium that ran all the way to the last lap and where the young Frenchwoman unveiled a dose of her huge talent and secured second place over Mauricio Hernández who had to be content with third.


After a hectic and impressive Sunday in Portugal the Norwegian leads the SEAT Leon Eurocup with 44 points after his second place from the first race and the triumph earned today. Behind, Mikel Azcona (PCR Sport) has forty points and Lucile Cypriano (JSB Competition) has 24; filling second and third places respectively. At the same time Lucile heads the Ladies Trophy with 20 points.

The SEAT Leon Eurocup will next see action on May 14-15 at the British circuit of Silverstone.


Stian Paulsen, Stian Paulsen Racing, winner of Race 2 of the 2016 SEAT Leon Eurocup: “Despite not having that much time to try the new car I’m happy with the weekend. Yesterday was really good and we had second position after a nice fight with Nielsen (Langeveld) and today we took victory. I enjoyed the race today. It was a great weekend for me. We were lapping faster every time and in the end was rewarded with second yesterday and victory today. The speed has come back.”

Lucile Cypriano, Baporo Motorsport, runner-up in Race 2 of the 2016 SEAT Leon Eurocup: “Yesterday I was unsatisfied with seventh position but today was totally different. We improved through some changes and mechanical alterations and I’m really pleased with my performance. Today we could be faster and I hope to continue to take points for the championship and fight for the podium in the next races.”


Mauricio Hernández, PCR Sport, third in Race 2 of the 2016 SEAT Leon Eurocup: “I’m really happy with the work done by the PCR team. After finishing last year really strong we were able to go quickly this weekend. I was second in practice on Friday but yesterday I had bad luck in the timed session and then in the race. Today I demonstrated what we are capable of this season and that’s to fight for the championship and the leading positions in each race; I’m leaving here happy.”

Jaime Puig, Director of SEAT Sport: “The first weekend has been really good. We enjoyed two interesting races which had a bit of everything: two different winners, nice battles and a lot of excitement. There were no serious moments or incidents and this was a positive for everybody. I hope the next weekend to come will promise to be just as captivating.”


Race 2 Classification:

1. Stian Paulsen (#34), Stian Paulsen Racing; 27’54.156
2. Lucile Cypriano (#9), JSB Competition; +3.761
3. Mauricio Hernandez (#17), PCR Sport; +3.832
4. Facundo Della Motta (#44), Baporo Motorsport; + 4.480
5. Mikel Azcona (#1), PCR Sport; + 6.880
6. Niels Langeveld (#10), Baporo Motorsport; + 7.454
7. Lourenço Beirao Da Veiga (#20), PCR Sport; +14.055
8. Alex Morgan (#5), Wolf Racing; + 20.281
9. Julien Briche (#3), JSB Competition; + 27.574
10. Nelson Lukes (#8), Kworx; + 27.730
11. Maurits Sandberg (#99), Baporo Motorsport; + 33.525
12. Lucas Orrock (#4), ZEST Clealand; + 36.155
13. Antonio Coimbra (#97), SEAT Sport; + 36.376
14. Amalia Vinyes (#13), Baporo Motorsport; + 38.205

Non classified:
Jimmy Antunes (#2), JSB Competition

Race 1 classification:

1. Mikel Azcona (#1), PCR Sport; +27’41.323
2. Stian Paulsen (#34), Stian Paulsen Racing; +7.650
3. Julien Briche (#3), JSB Competition; + 14.536
4. Niels Langeveld (#10), Baporo Motorsport; + 18.390
5. Alex Morgan (#5), Wolf Racing; + 22.554
6. Facundo Della Motta (#44), Baporo Motorsport; +23.281
7. Lucile Cypriano (#9), JSB Competition; +26.152
8. Maurits Sandberg (#99), Baporo Motorsport; +41.064
9. Mauricio Hernandez (#17), PCR Sport; +42.416
10. Antonio Coimbra (#97), SEAT Sport; +49.226
11. Amalia Vinyes (#13), Baporo Motorsport; +69.178
12. Nelson Lukes (#8), Kworx; +5 vueltas

Non classified:
Lucas Orrock (#4), ZEST Clealand; +5 vueltas
Jimmy Antunes (#2), JSB Competition
Lourenço Beirao Da Veiga (#20), PCR Sport

2016 SEAT Leon Eurocup standings:

1. Stian Paulsen (#34), Stian Paulsen Racing; 44 points
2. Mikel Azcona (#1), PCR Sport; 40 points
3. Lucile Cypriano (#9), JSB Competition; 24 points
4. Niels Langeveld (#10), Baporo Motorsport; 23 points
5. Facundo Della Motta (#44), Baporo Motorsport; 20 points
6. Julien Briche (#3), JSB Competition; 19 points
7. Mauricio Hernandez (#17), PCR Sport; 17 points
8. Alex Morgan (#5), Wolf Racing; 14 points
9. Lourenço Beirao Da Veiga (#20), PCR Sport; 10 points
10. Maurits Sandberg (#99), Baporo Motorsport; 4 points
11. Amalia Vinyes (#13), Baporo Motorsport; 1 points
12. Nelson Lukes (#8), Kworx; 1 points
13. Lucas Orrock (#4), ZEST Clealand; 0 points
14. Jimmy Antunes (#2), JSB Competition; 0 points
15. Marie Baus-Coppens (#21), JSB Competition; 0 points